New Brunswick’s child welfare system

Information Sheet
CECW archives material

Gough, Pamela

CECW Information Sheet #48E. Toronto, ON: University of Toronto, Faculty of Social Work.

In New Brunswick, the Department of Family and Community Services oversees the quality and delivery of child protection services, which are provided by 265 provincial social workers operating from 16 sites located in eight regions throughout the province.

The Department of Family and Community Services delivers child protection services within the context of a broad range of integrated social programs for families and children. Teams within the Department work together collaboratively to plan, monitor and oversee the delivery of child welfare and youth related programs and services. They also interpret legislation and develop programs, policies, and procedures.

Product Number